foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

remembering Kevin (listening to Stumbleine)

Kevin was really smart, funny, and a good debater. Here are a couple emails he sent me:

Elizabeth-
Is there something you're trying to tell me with this article? Elizabeth, have you secretly been planting flowers? Or even worse, have you lost your childish obsession with celebrities? Have you been having feelings of reciprocity in relationships? If so, I think you need to call an ambulance and be rushed to an insane asylum. There, you will promptly have your torso removed permanently thereby suppressing these monstrous impulses. Thereafter, if you are ever caught decoration your place of residence with potted plants, or even a cactus you will be duct taped to a polar bear who will then be placed in a hedge maze like in the movie "The Shining." Let this be a warning.

Your concerned friend,
Kevin

From: Kevin Brown [email protected] To: [email protected]
Subject: RE: one more reason to hate justin timberlake

As for the JT "naked" lyrics, I don't think they aim to convey a message about dominating or controlling a woman, rather I think it is about seduction. I think he's boasting that he's going to turn you on so much that you will willingly get naked. And many women like to be sexually swept off their feet.And with the boob incident, I don't think that if Janet Jackson ripped off her own boob covering it would have been any less offensive. Although I am not very offended by it anyway. I would say that she agreed to have JT do that to her, but you may argue that the dance depicts him being the aggressor. I've seen plenty of choreographed dancing that places the women in the dominant role and men being submissive or even degraded. That is to say their fictitious character on stage is degraded, not the dancer themselves as a person. This is the same with lyrics. There are plenty of lyrics that are to men what the "naked" lyrics are to women. I dont think I like radical feminism. I don't think I like radical anything.FIGHT THE POWER A LITTLE BIT!!!

Kevin

9:43 p.m. - 2005-06-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia