foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

as a woman

I had an experience tonight that I think a lot of women and girls can relate to. I decided to go shopping at the boutique at the Heartland Cafe in Rogers Park. (I ended up buying a "now war" button and this month's issue of Venus, which has interviews with both Le Tigre and Ani Difranco.) When I drove up to the parking lot, which is a couple of blocks north of the Cafe, I noticed three guys horsing around there. Since I had to walk past them anyway, I decided to just be friendly. I said, "Are you guys having fun?" One of them responded, "We're just throwing twigs in that basket." But another one of them asked me, "What did you say?" and I responded, laughing, "I just think you guys are funny because you're sitting here throwing sticks around." I didn't stop walking this whole time. After I turned the corner, a stick came flying out in back of me and hit the hubcap of the car I was walking away from!

So, I kind of didn't know what to do when I was in the store. Finally I asked the cashier if someone could walk me back to my car, explaining the situation with the three guys. So a guy who works at the Heartland walked me back to my car. It was no big deal, but I just ended up feeling kind of wimpy and minutely violated afterwards.

10:23 p.m. - 2004-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia