foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shopping for a dating guide

My dad is so funny. He's becoming the perfect 1950's housewife because he bought this really high-end floor tile vacuum, and now every Sunday evening he obsessively, and I do mean obsessively, cleans the kitchen floor, and then for 1 1/2 hours afterward obsesses over each spot that still remains on the floor. My dad is not effeminate (sp?) at all. He just reeeally wants the kitchen floor to be sparkling clean.

I'm going out for drinks with Jim tonight. Jim's the guy I dated in June who broke things off with me when I got back from my trip to Seattle. (Saif recently said to me, "Elizabeth, I can't keep up with all the white-guy names of all the guys you date.") So anyway, I decided I'm hard-up for friends, so I might as well try to be friends with Jim. But, I did spend at least three weeks after the breakup flipping off Jim's house when I drove by it, and the fact that we're hanging out tonight is bringing up all these not-so-old feelings for him. However, I have resolve: him breaking up with me made me not trust him in a relationship, and based on that if, IF, my fantasies come true and he makes a regret-filled move on me tonight, I will turn him down.

Based on this pithy amount of guy drama in my life, I decided to purchase a book on dating. I ended up with Elizabeth Hilts' "The Inner Bitch Guide to Men, Relationships, Dating, Etc." It's illustrated by Nicole Hollander, the woman who does the newspaper cartoon "Sylvia." One of the quotes on the back is, "How many of you ever started dating someone because you were too lazy to commit suicide?" I ended up choosing this one because it made me laugh, and I haven't thrown in the towel quite enough to buy "Men Are From Mars and Women Are From Venus."

5:46 p.m. - 2004-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia