foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"My Art Is Better Than Your Art\" Part Two

You�re going to grad school to be famous? You�re goin� about it all wrong, sister. If you�re going for the degree then I say stick it out and schmooz with the bigwigs and work the system to your advantage. While you�re at it MAKE WAVES!!! You�re talented, smart, pretty, you make awsome art and your writing is phenomenal! Don�t let them bring you down. Photograph how you want, in your way and if you don�t like what they�re saying to you, fuck �em. It�s your money.

My situation doesn�t really compare to yours so I doubt it would be of much help. I left mostly because I have anxiety about owing money and I had no one to lean on if I lost my job among other things. I couldn�t take the schedule either. I also found that that program was hindering my creative flow. It made photography lose its luster for me. I felt brainwashed. I understand now why they preach the things they do but it defies the reasons for creativity. ARTISTS BREAK THE RULES--you can�t break the rules by following a fucking pattern or formula for how to make great art. You might as well hang it up if you�re going to copy everyone else�s ideas and make them your own (which is what a LOT of people are doing now sadly). It�s true you don�t need grad school to become famous but the connections help and if you can keep focused on what makes you a great artist and stick to your own code, then just USE Columbia to your advantage. You can certainly break the rules because you�re an artist. Do it your way and don�t listen to anyone who tries to tell you you�re wrong. It�s art for crissake! And it�s your money.

The only people you should listen to are the ones who give you constructive criticism. Take this time to refine your ideas and technical abilities and don�t let the negativity of others influence you to second-guess yourself. That's what the program is for�to give you a thick skin and courge to face the brutal art world.

The situation with your mom is easy. Just nod and say �yes mother�. You�re lucky to have parents who support your artistic talents and to have them encourage you. Do what you feel is right for you and use your own good judgement and everything will fall into place. Weigh the pros and cons and then make your decision. Also make sure you have a backup plan, that�s always good. Fuck fame and do what makes you happy. fame will take care of itself.

I want you to know that your writing (what I�ve read of it) has inspired me. Just the fact that you post it up for people to see is inspiring. You obviously have something to say. Say it in your photographs too!

If you don't get candidacy, don't let that bring you down. it's not the end of the world, only the beginning

of a long hard fight. you'll get it eventually. you just need a solid argument.

hope that helps!

-charlene

5:56 a.m. - 2003-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia