foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

white guilt accomplishes nothing

Today is another beautiful Chicago day. The truth is, I don't really know what to do with myself in nice weather because I don't go outside very much. I just like it because when I do have to go outside, I don't have to deal with crappy weather.

I did go to church today, but instead of being early for the 10:15 mass I was late for the 9:30 mass. I took Communion, though. The I went to a talk given by a black nun on racism. She gave out a list on suggested reading (score!) and she's going to have a workshop with our parish.

If you think all this church stuff sounds weird coming from me, I feel the same way! But I really feel like I need faith in my life. It just opens my life way up... I feel more at peace. i was having trouble with people or priests in church saying things like, "We are all united in christ," but then I realized that Christ means love. I'm still a liberal, pro-choice, pro-gay Democrat. But I hope you don't think I sound like a holy roller or something. :)

Do you remember my post about white guilt? Sister A said that guilt accomplishes nothing, and the best thing we (the other parishioners and I) as white people can do with our white privelege is recognize it and use it to help others.

So I'm going to go on a trip our parish takes to the south side to rebuild poor people's homes. I'm not going to buy the Joyful Heart Foundation necklace, but I will donate to RAINN again next year and possibly work as a rape crisis counselor this summer.

12:07 p.m. - 2005-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia