foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

feminist bookstores, weird dream

So, when you live in Chicago, (as opposed to in a city like New York or Seattle) you tend to have one feminist bookstore, one feminist sex shop, as opposed to MORE, but for the midwest having at least one in your city is a good start. So, there's a feminist bookstore in Chicago called Women and Children First. (There's also a Communist bookstore called Revolution Books that has some feminist literature, but not as much as at Women and Children First.) WaCF has a young feminists' book club that I'm going to check out. However, I can't go until December because of my dance class. The book they're discussing in late December, though, sounds really interesting... it's by Angela Y. Davis and it's called "Are Prisons Obsolete?" Now that I think about it, I've always been interested in whether or not the prison system is working, and although I do have misgivings about the argument, it would be really interesting to partake in the discussion of it. I don't think we have that book at Borders, so tomorrow, on my way home from a meeting with one of my teachers, I'm going to stop in at WaCF and buy that book. I want to join a book club to meet people, but also because it would force me to start a book I finish.

I had a strange dream last night. I dreamed that myself and other young women my age were planning weddings for themselves even if they hadn't met someone in the hopes that they would have met someone by the wedding date. So, on my wedding day, there was this guy I was hooking up with, or a couple, but I didn't want to marry any of them, and there was something about everyone, including my dates, wanting me to ride in a hot air balloon and I was convincing them of why it's better to fly a kite. I think part of my argument had to do with the fact that there's a song about flying kites in Mary Poppins. But this dream just gets more convoluted, so I'm going to stop writing about it now.

11:30 p.m. - 2004-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia