foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a very interesting day to be an American

It's become like a game, people telling their stories of what were they doing on Tuesday, September 11, 2001, when two planes crashed into the World Trade Center. I feel like an old lady recounting where she was when she found out about Pearl Harbor.

I was sleeping (it was only 8:00 am central time). However, I was supposed to be in class (History of Dadaism and Surrealism). As the morning wore on and I stayed in bed, my phone kept ringing. Finally I checked my messages. My mom, sounding very urgent, told me to call her right away. I did, and she told me what happened. At first I thought the whole thing was some weird accident. She wanted me to take the El home immediately from where my dorm was, in downtown Chicago. So I did. Before I hopped the El, I had a cigarette with a guy in my dorm. I just remember him summing up the crisis: "It's a very interesting day to be an American." What else could one say?

So, I went home. I relished my fear that the el train would be attacked, somehow. There's a part of me that loves crises-- I love how I go on autopilot and don't ruminate over everything I do before I do it during crises.

The Chinese have a curse: "May you live in interesting times."

4:31 p.m. - 2004-09-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia