foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"...but, man, I wish I had a hand to hold\"

Today I�ve spent the whole day, and will spend the whole rest of the day, killing time. Even when I take pictures later, it will be killing time. Why is it just killing time? Because I am alone, and when I am alone all I really want to do is sleep, so these other things I do are killing time.

But if you kill time enough, you�ll find that some of the things you do to kill time are wonderful and beneficial.

I�ve been reading Pema Chodron, who is a Tibetan Buddhist monk. It seems to me that the lesson at the heart of her teachings is: accept where you are, because where you are is wonderful, and only if you accept where you are can you truly change it.

Today I went for a walk. No headphones, no cameras, no notebooks; just me, alone. And I found myself at the muddy foot of a polluted ravine that I�d struggled with a walking stick I found along the way to get to, on this cold, damp and overcast day. And I was alone.

And I just accepted that. �Here I am,� I thought, �on a cold, windy, damp, overcast day, at the muddy foot of a polluted ravine, and I am alone. And you you know what? It�s not so bad, because since there�s no one else here, no one will chastise me for throwing my cigarette butt into the ravine, and since it�s polluted I won�t feel guilty either.�

Then I saw that I wasn�t alone. Shrouded in the water�s pollution, a turtle had been watching me the whole time.

4:32 p.m. - 2004-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia