foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ward 81

I just viewed the book Ward 81 by Mary Ellen Mark. It was one of the most glorious yet macabre and depressing things I�d ever seen! I wonder if it made a difference that I viewed the book (for the first time since I was sixteen, just now) and am now writing this while listening to Live Through This by Hole. It churned up a lot of feelings of hurt for me, since I know so many people who were suicidal and in mental institutions, and so many mentally ill women in particular. I guess MEM checked herself into a women�s psychiatric ward sometime in the late sixties or early seventies so she could take the pictures. Heavy stuff, and a lot to process right now. I need a cigarette (or food).

Peace,

Elizabeth

8:18 a.m. - 2004-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia