foxinsnow's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More On Activism

"We Have such a strong desire to live with hope and human dignity that existence without them is impossible. When reactionary forces crush us, we must move against these forces,even at the risk of death." --Huey P. Newton, as quoted by someone who might as well have been my cousin in his Bar Mitzvah speech. May both their memories live on in our activism.

Here are some organizations I do support and some that he would support:

MoveOn

(an antiwar and political action organization)

I got anti-war mailings from them already, and just made a donation in my friend's memory. Bush-- move on! (to Antarctica)

www.MoveOn.org

NORML

(National Organization to Reform Marijuana Laws)

www.norml.org

You all know I don't smoke anymore, right? Still, a good cause-- I just wouldn't buy the "Smoking Pot is NORML" pins, but maybe you would!

Venceremos Brigade

(A group which works to end the embargo and aid the people of Cuba)

I have not checked it out myself, but he was into that stuff.

www.venceremosbrigade.org

NAMI

(National Alliance for the Mentally Ill)

www.nami.org

A very "sane" approach to living with mental illness, I use their website all the time to research my meds.

RAINN

(Rape and Incest National Network)

My secret fantasy is to be a rape crisis counselor/volunteer when I have the time, money, and stamina for it

www.rainn.org

NOW

(National Organization for Women)

Started in 1966. Wonderful organization, maybe my favorite up here. Its speakers always make me want to cry, or cry out, "Right on, sister!" I know that's really cheesy.

for URL: www.chicagonow.org If you're not from Chicago like I am, will get you inside.

"STOP MAKING ART!"

"

9:15 a.m. - 2003-09-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

shebreathes
hothead
cactustree
kilowatt
scratchvinyl
his-holiness
arc-angel666
vocalfern
not-tuesday
anexperiment
samgrey
fuckmeharder
hissandtell
news
dragprincess
pretty-pussy
theyknew
stealmypurse
postcognate
mess-age
shefoofights
ang314g0tn
pinksubway
emmalene
banefulvenus
witchmedic
never-again
ihatepizza
starinajar
eden7
thoughts159
bebegracie
awittykitty
invisibledon
cantbreathe
chubbychic
camera-girl
rumblelizard
wolfi3
film-grrl
mnvnjnsn
fuschia